Welcome to Kano State (The Center of Commerce)


Kano State is a state in Northern Nigeria. Created on May 27, 1967 from part of the Northern Region, Kano state borders Katsina State to the north-west, Jigawa State to the north-east, Bauchi State to the south-east and Kaduna State to the south-west. The capital of Kano State is Kano. The state lies between 800’0”E, 1100’0”N and 900’0”E, 1200’0”N.


The dominant populaces of the state are Hausa-Fulani. However, there are almost every prominent tribe of Nigeria and West Africa residing in Kano state, due to the old Trans-Saharan trade. This makes Kano a cosmopolitan state and center of commerce in Nigeria and West Africa in general. It is among the Seven Hausa State (Hausa Bakwai). Kano experienced four Dynasties in its History background from 999AD to date.

Bagauda Dynasty from 999AD-1476AD, Muhammadu Rumfa Dynasty, from 1476AD-1623 AD, Kutumbi Dynasty from 1623AD- 1805AD and the present Fulani Dynasty of Mallam Suleiman, a descendent of Usman Dan Fodio from 1805AD- to the days of Alhaji (Dr) Aminu Ado Abdullahi Bayero, the present  15th Emir of Fulani Dynasty and other newly created additional Emirates (Rano, Gaya, Karaye and Bichi).

The state has 9,383,682, million people as at 2006 National Population Census with 4,947,045 male and 4,452,584 female. Presently the state has a total number of projected populations of 16,129,763 comprising of 8,489,129 and 7,640,634 for male and female respectively with a multiplicative factor of 3.6 growth rates.

You can start by having virtual tour around  the State below